TL;DR
Get home office essentials delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
AJ Bell reduced the annual charge on its ready-made personal pension from 0.45% to 0.35% on 14 October. The report says the change makes the pension one of the cheapest by fee in the managed personal pension market, but it does not provide competitor charges or enough detail to compare total costs across providers.
AJ Bell cut the annual charge on its ready-made personal pension from 0.45% to 0.35% on 14 October, lowering the fee for customers who want a managed, hands-off investment option. MoneyWeek’s report describes the new charge as placing the pension among the cheapest fee-wise in the managed personal pension market, though it does not give a provider-by-provider comparison.
The change applies to AJ Bell’s ready-made personal pension, aimed at investors who prefer not to select and manage their investments themselves. The annual charge fell by 0.10 percentage points, from 0.45% to 0.35%. The source report gives no further breakdown of the charge, including whether it covers every investment-related cost a customer may pay.
That distinction matters when comparing pensions. A headline annual platform or management fee may not capture all costs associated with an account or its investments. The supplied report does not list any other charges for AJ Bell’s pension, explain how the fee is calculated, or state whether any customer groups are excluded from the new rate.
MoneyWeek characterises the reduced charge as making AJ Bell one of the lowest-fee providers in the managed personal pension market. That is a comparison claim in the report; the material supplied does not name the competitors or set out their charges, services or investment options. It is not possible from these details alone to rank providers or establish which pension would cost less for a particular saver.
Lower Charges for Hands-Off Savers
A lower annual fee can reduce the amount charged to customers who use AJ Bell’s ready-made pension, compared with the previous rate, assuming the same fee basis and account value. The new rate is 0.35% instead of 0.45%; the actual cash difference will depend on how the charge is applied and the value of a customer’s pension. The supplied report does not include example account balances or illustrative savings.
The reduction also gives savers a reason to review the costs of managed pension services, particularly if they are comparing products designed for people who do not want to choose investments themselves. However, fees are only one part of that decision. Investment range, service features, account terms and all other applicable costs can affect the comparison, and the source material does not assess those factors.
For consumers, the immediate confirmed development is a lower stated AJ Bell charge. The wider market claim should be treated with care until comparable fee information is available on a like-for-like basis. Pension investments can fall as well as rise in value, and charges do not remove the risk of losing money.
best low fee managed personal pension
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
AJ Bell’s Ready-Made Pension
The report identifies the product as AJ Bell’s ready-made personal pension and describes its intended audience as investors taking a hands-off approach. Rather than managing the investments themselves, customers use a ready-made option. The supplied material does not set out the investment strategy, risk levels, available options or how frequently the portfolio is reviewed.
Before the 14 October change, the annual charge was reported as 0.45%. AJ Bell lowered it to 0.35% on that date. The report’s headline frames the change as making the pension one of the cheapest in its market segment, but provides no table or named competitor examples to show how the claim was established.
The year of the announcement is not included in the supplied source excerpt. Nor does the excerpt provide a link to a detailed fee schedule or a full account of terms. This limits what can be confirmed about the change beyond the reported reduction in the annual charge.
““one of the cheapest fee-wise on the managed personal pension market””
— MoneyWeek report
ready-made pension plans for beginners
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
How the Market Comparison Holds Up
The supplied report does not identify which other managed personal pensions were included in its comparison or give their current fees. It also does not explain whether the comparison considers only a stated annual charge or the total cost of holding a pension, including investment and account-related charges. The description of AJ Bell as one of the cheapest is therefore attributable to the report, rather than independently demonstrated by the available figures.
It is also unclear from the source excerpt when the reduced fee takes effect for existing customers, whether it applies to all customers and account sizes, and whether additional conditions apply. No detailed fee schedule, product terms or statement from AJ Bell is included. The year of the 14 October announcement is not specified.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Check the Full Fee Schedules
Savers comparing AJ Bell with other providers would need to check each pension’s current fee schedule and terms, including charges beyond the headline annual rate. They should also compare the investment options and service features, as well as confirm how the charges apply to their own account.
The supplied material does not state whether AJ Bell plans further changes or provide a date for any additional announcement. Until more detailed terms and comparable competitor figures are available, the confirmed point is the reduction from 0.45% to 0.35%, while the broader market ranking remains a claim in the report.
affordable managed pension providers
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Key Questions
What fee did AJ Bell change?
AJ Bell reduced the reported annual charge on its ready-made personal pension from 0.45% to 0.35% on 14 October. The year is not stated in the supplied report.
Who is the ready-made pension intended for?
The report describes it as an option for investors who want a hands-off approach rather than managing their pension investments themselves. The supplied material does not detail the investment options or portfolio strategy.
Is AJ Bell now the cheapest managed pension?
The report says the new charge makes AJ Bell one of the cheapest fee-wise in the managed personal pension market. It does not list competitor prices or provide enough information to confirm a full market ranking.
Does the 0.35% charge represent the full cost?
The supplied report does not specify whether the annual charge includes every account and investment cost. Customers should check AJ Bell’s full fee schedule and compare all applicable charges before judging the total cost.
How much will an individual customer save?
The annual rate fell by 0.10 percentage points. The source provides no account-balance examples, so the cash impact for an individual depends on how the charge is calculated and the value of the pension.
Source: rss
Halloween Picks
halloween
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
