TL;DR
Get home office essentials delivered free — and shop member deals
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Access to Prime Big Deal Days deals on October 6–7
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
NS&I has increased interest rates on eight fixed-rate savings accounts, the second rate rise in two months. The Treasury-backed provider said to be offering rates above 5% on several accounts, but the supplied report does not give exact rates or compare them with rival savings deals, so it cannot establish whether they are best buys.
NS&I has raised rates on eight fixed-rate savings accounts, the second increase in two months, improving offers across its one-, two-, three- and five-year terms. Several accounts now pay more than 5%, according to MoneyWeek, though the available information does not establish whether they are the best deals on the market.
The rate changes affect NS&I’s fixed-rate accounts with one-, two-, three- and five-year terms. MoneyWeek reports that eight accounts have been repriced, but the supplied report does not list the individual products, their previous rates, or their new rates. Readers therefore cannot use this information alone to calculate the precise gain from each increase.
The changes follow an earlier round of increases within the past two months, making this the second rate rise in that period. MoneyWeek says several of the accounts now pay above 5%. That is a reported rate threshold, not a complete comparison: the source material does not identify which terms exceed it or state the conditions attached to each account.
The headline asks whether the accounts are “best buys,” but a firm answer would require current rates and terms from competing providers. The information supplied does not include a market ranking, savings-rate comparison, or details about access, minimum deposits, or how interest is paid. Those points need checking against the account terms before savers decide whether a fixed commitment suits them.
Higher Returns Come With Fixed Terms
For savers considering a fixed-rate account, a higher advertised rate can improve the interest available over a set period. The move also signals that NS&I has repriced several products again within a relatively short time. People who already hold savings with the provider, or who are comparing places for new deposits, may want to check whether their account is affected and whether the new terms fit their plans.
However, a rate above 5% does not by itself show that an account is a best buy. A fair comparison depends on the rate for the same term, the account’s rules, and whether the saver can leave funds untouched for the full period. Fixed-rate products can restrict access or impose conditions; the supplied report does not give the details for these NS&I accounts. The changes are therefore a reason to compare, not proof that a particular account is right for every saver.
NS&I is Treasury-backed, a feature that may matter to savers weighing providers and account terms. That does not remove the need to check the product’s rate, access arrangements and eligibility. The source material does not explain whether existing customers receive the new rates automatically, so current account holders should not assume that a rate rise applies to money already deposited.
best fixed-rate savings accounts 5% interest
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
A Second Increase in Two Months
The development reported by MoneyWeek is a further rate adjustment by National Savings and Investments (NS&I), the Treasury-backed savings provider. It covers fixed-rate products with four broad term lengths: one, two, three and five years. The article describes eight accounts as receiving higher rates and says this is the second increase in two months.
Fixed-rate savings differ from accounts where rates can change and funds may be easier to access. In return for keeping money invested for an agreed term, a saver receives the rate set out in the account terms, subject to those terms. That general distinction helps explain why the length of each NS&I deal matters, but the material available here does not specify the withdrawal rules or other conditions of the repriced accounts.
Rate comparisons are time-sensitive: providers can change offers, and a leading rate for one term may not be the leading rate for another. The source report provides no named rival accounts or comparison date, so its headline question about “best buys” remains open rather than answered by the rate rise alone.
“NS&I has hiked rates on eight of its fixed-rate savings accounts for the second time in two months.”
— MoneyWeek
high interest fixed-term savings account
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Exact Rates and Terms Not Listed
The information supplied does not state the new or previous rate for each account, the date the changes take effect, or which individual products are now above 5%. It also does not name comparison accounts or provide evidence that NS&I’s offers lead the market. Without those details, a best-buy verdict cannot be confirmed.
Other practical points are also unanswered: the source material does not set out minimum deposits, access or early-withdrawal rules, eligibility, or whether the rate applies to existing balances as well as new deposits. Savers should consult NS&I’s current account information for these conditions rather than infer them from the headline. The report does not provide a statement from NS&I explaining the reason for the changes.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Check Current Offers Before Applying
The next useful step for savers is to compare NS&I’s published rates and account conditions with current offers from other providers for the same fixed term. They should check when each rate applies, whether they qualify, what happens if they need access early, and whether existing NS&I customers are included. The source material does not announce a further rate change or give a date for another update.
Because savings rates and product availability can change, any comparison should use information available at the time of applying. Until the exact rates and terms are confirmed from NS&I and set against rival accounts, the reported increases establish that the provider has raised its offers, but not that the accounts are the market’s best buys.
best buy savings accounts comparison
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Key Questions
Which NS&I accounts have had their rates increased?
MoneyWeek reports rate rises across eight fixed-rate accounts covering one-, two-, three- and five-year terms. The supplied report does not identify every account by name.
How much do the accounts now pay?
The report says several accounts pay more than 5%, but does not give the precise rate for each account or identify which terms exceed that level. Check NS&I’s current product details for exact rates.
Are NS&I’s new rates the best buys?
The available information does not establish that. It contains no comparison with competing providers, and rates and terms can differ by fixed term. Compare current offers and account conditions before deciding.
Will existing NS&I savers get the higher rate?
The source material does not say whether the increases apply to existing deposits or only to new accounts. Existing customers should check their account terms and NS&I’s announcement for confirmation.
When did the new rates take effect?
The report describes the increase as the second in two months, but the supplied information does not give an effective date. NS&I’s current account pages should be checked for the applicable dates.
Source: rss
Halloween Picks
halloween
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
